DENR-EMB and private partners bare national finalists for the 2017 National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools

A total of 48 public and private schools have entered the national finals of the 2017 National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools, organized by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources – Environmental Management Bureau, in cooperation with the Department of Education, Commission on Higher Education, Smart Communications, Inc., Nestle Philippines, Inc., One Meralco Foundation, Inc., Land Bank of the Philippines and other government and private sector partners.

Seventeen elementary schools, 17 high schools and 14 colleges made it through the regional eliminations and will now compete in their respective categories at the national level. Winners will be announced during the exhibition-cum-awarding ceremony that will be held on November 13, 2017 at a venue in Metro Manila as part of the National Environmental Awareness Month pursuant further to the National Environmental Awareness and Education Act also known as Republic Act No. 9512.

Prizes for the national level include: PhP50,000 – First Prize; Php40,000 – Second Prize; PhP30,000 – Third Prize and plaques of recognition for elementary, secondary and tertiary education level winners.

For the elementary school level, the regional champions are: F. Ma. Guerrero Elementary School, Paco, Manila; Baguio Central School in Baguio City; Malued Elementary School, Dagupan City, Pangasinan; Bintawan South Elementary School, Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya; Cambitala Elementary School, Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija; Javalera Elementary School in General Trias City, Cavite; Adriatico Memorial School in Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro; Caranan North Elementary School, Pasacao, Camarines Sur; Payao Elementary School, Binalbagan, Negros Occidental; Tagbac Elementary School, Oton, Iloilo Province; La Paz Elementary School, Bogo City, Cebu; Mansahaon Elementary School, Matag-ob, Leyte; Zamboanga Central School SPED Center, Zamboanga City; Tubod Central School in Lanao del Norte; San Vicente Elementary School, Panabo City, Davao del Norte; Katangawan Central Elementary School, General Santos City and Mt. Olive Elementary School, Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur.

For the high school level, the regional champions are: Muntinlupa National High School, Muntinlupa City; Pinsao National High School, Baguio City; Sinait National High School, Ilocos Sur; Divisoria High School, Santiago City, Isabela; Francisco G. Nepomuceno Memorial High School, Angeles City, Pampanga; Imus National High School in Imus City, Cavite; Oriental Mindoro National High School in Calapan City; Tiwi Agro-Industrial School in Albay; E. B. Magalona National High School in Negros Occidental, Concepcion L. Cazeñas Memorial School, Tobias Fornier, Antique Province; Jovencio N. Masong National High School, Bogo City, Cebu; Oquendo National High School, Calbayog City, Samar; Diplahan National High School in Zamboanga Sibugay; Balo-i National High School in Lanao del Norte; Tagum City National High School, Davao del Norte; Malalag Cogon National High School, Malungon, Sarangani and Bayugan National Comprehensive High School in Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur.

For the college level, the schools that made it to the national level are: Enderun Colleges, Inc., Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City; Saint Louis University, Baguio City; Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University – North La Union Campus, Bacnotan, La Union; Adventist University of the Philippines, Silang, Cavite; Western Philippines University, Aborlan, Palawan; Aquinas University of Legazpi in Albay; Carlos Hilado Memorial State Colleges in Talisay City, Negros Occidental; St. Therese MTC Colleges, Iloilo City; Cebu Technological University – Daanbantayan Campus, Cebu; Naval State University, Biliran; Universidad de Zamboanga in Zamboanga City; Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan in Cagayan de Oro City; Ramon Magsaysay Memorial College, General Santos City and Agusan del Sur State College of Agriculture in Bunawan.

The said nationwide search is the Philippine initiative in support to the ASEAN Environmental Education Action Plan (2014-2018) and ASEAN 50th Anniversary with the theme: “Partnering for Change … Engaging the World”.

For details, please contact the National Program Secretariat at the Environmental Education and Information Division of the Environmental Management Bureau of the DENR, at telefax numbers: (02) 9284674 and (02) 3765610, e-mail addresses: and, websites: and,