Historical Background

The North La Union Campus (NLUC) of the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU) evolved through a series of metamorphosis since June 18, 1969 to the present.

The Campus had its beginning as the La Union Agricultural School (LUAS) established through RA No. 2692 and signed on June 18, 1960. Then Congressman Francisco Ortega was among the prime movers in the drafting of the law had established the LUAS.


LUAS became operational in 1963 with the appointment of then Mr. Victor V. Luis as school principal with a total enrollment of 139 students. The first curricular offerings were limited to the secondary vocational agriculture for boys and secondary agricultural home-making for girls.

On June 15, 1968, LUAS attained its college status through RA No. 5310. LUAS became Don Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Agriculture (DMMMCA), in honor of the illustrious father of the late President Ferdinand E. Marcos, the late Don Mariano Marcos, who died in Salincob, a barangay adjacent to the school site.

The conversion of the school into a College was attained through concerted efforts of the Congressman Francisco Ortega, Senator Magnolia Antonio, La Union Governor Juvenal Guerrero and Bacnotan Mayor Francisco Fontanilla.

Six years later, DMMMCA became a chartered state college. It became the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State College (DMMMSC) through PD No. 615 signed on December 19, 1974. Dr. Crispin E. Cabanilla became the first DMMMSC President until his death on November 9, 1977. Dr. Bienvenido P. Agpaoa became the second President on February 7, 1978. He took over from then NEDA Region I Director Joseph Alabanza who acted as Officer-In-Charge since the death of Dr. Cabanilla.

On April 12, 1979, The Balaoan School of Fisheries was emerged with DMMMSC by virtue of PD No. 1617.

DMMMSC became a state university – The Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU) on January 15, 1981 through PD No. 1778. DMMMSU evolved through the merger of the following former schools and colleges: DMMMSC; The La Union School of Arts and Trade; The Community College of La Union; the Southern Ilocos Polytechnic State College; and the Sapilang Elementary School.


DMMMSC became the College of Agriculture and Forestry and the University Main Campus. The other schools and colleges were renamed as: Balaoan School of Fisheries – College of Fisheries Balaoan; Community College of La Union – College of Liberal Arts; La Union School of Arts and Trade – College of Engineering and Technology ; Southern Ilocos Polytechnic State College – College of Fisheries Sto. Tomas; and Southern Ilocos Polytechnic State College – College of Agriculture Rosario. The Sapilang Elementary School was made part of the College of Agriculture and Forestry as laboratory school for education courses.

Dr. Manuel T. Corpus assumed as DMMMSU President on February 18, 1989 after Dr. Pablito G. Picardal who served as officer-in-charge since the death of Dr. Agpaoa on September 30, 1988.

Pursuant to DMMMSU six year Development Plan (1993-1998), the former seven campuses were grouped into three campuses: The North La Union Campus (NLUC); Mid La Union Campus (MLUC); and South La Union Campus (SLUC).

NLUC was composed of the College of Agriculture and Forestry (CAF). Institute of Veterinary Medicine (IVM), Institute of Computer Studies (ICS), and Institute of Environmental Studies (IES). It also absorbed the College of Fisheries Balaoan, which was made the Fisheries Research and Training Institute. In addition, NLUC is the seat of the University Central Administration.


On April 18, 2002, the Institute of Agroforestry and Watershed Management (IAWM) was established by virtue of BOR 2002-19 absorbing agroforestry and forestry programs from the College of Agriculture (CA).


The North La Union Campus, specifically the Bacnotan Campus, is currently having two national institutes. These are the Sericulture Research and Development Institute (SRDI) and the National Apiculture Research and Training and Development Institute (NARTDI) on the other hand evolved as a special project of the Plant Science Department then was developed as a center on September 27, 1991 by virtue of Board Resolution No. 91-160, and finally a national institution on August 10, 2001 pursuant to RA No. 9151.



Bestowed with scenic plains which give panoramic view of thick vegetation and lush forest adjacent to it, the North La Union Campus is the cleanest, greenest and largest campus of the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University, the only university I La Union. But that’s not the only thing that is interesting about the Campus.

It is almost 26 years of operation as a learning institution since DMMMSU became a university, The North la Union Campus continued to excel in various fields like agriculture, forestry, agroforestry, teacher education, agricultural engineering and veterinary medicine as manifested by the results of Licensure Examinations conducted annually. Some of NLUC’s graduates made it to the list of top achievers. As the campus progresses, it has opened several other relevant courses as mandated by the mission and vision of the University. These include agribusiness management, environmental science, information management, watershed management, the newest course. All of these programs/courses are performing well as evidenced by the results of the recently conducted accreditation by a national accrediting agency. A new course will also be offered this coming first Semester- BS in Community Development.

Students are assured of quality instruction. The faculty members of the North La Union Campus are very competent. Most of them are Ph. D. and Master’s Degree holders; the rest are pursuing graduate studies in their respective fields of specialization. Some of the faculty members took their graduate studies abroad. Oftentimes, some of them are sent abroad to attend seminars and trainings relevant to their fields of specializations.

Students are involved in various academic competitions, cultural festivals, literary/journalism conferences, leadership trainings and other extra and intra-curricular activities. Excellent medical and dental services are provided to the students. Scholarship grants from the University, government and private entities/institutions are given to poor but deserving students Dormitories for guys and ladies are provided to accommodate students.

The main library of the campus is conducive to reading/studying. The reading room is fully air-conditioned. Books, journals and other reference materials are easily accessible through a systematic card catalogue. Latest editions of textbooks and latest issues of scientific journals and research publications are regularly subscribed to provide the students with up-to-date information. E-references have also been made available to all users.

Students are provided with the state-of-the-art facilities and equipment used in laboratory experiments and field activities.  Laboratories for Chemistry, Physics and Biology have been renovated and equipment’s have been upgraded. Each institute and/or department has its own various laboratories in which experiments and researches are conducted. The Nodal Center and Internet Café are of special interest. All computer units are upgraded such that they conform to the latest trends in information technology.

Among the physical facilities that students could avail on include a wide and clean gymnasium, student center for various student activities, clean canteen and fastfood center, study shades and benches, clean dormitories, laboratories and a lot more.

What else will you look for with all these interesting features a school has?